Thimphu

A lovely elephant welcomed us to Thimphu for our first night and staying at Hotel Nordenma. It seemed central but was a 15 or so minute drive tithe centre. After dropping us at our hotel, Sanjiv and I elected to be taken to the city. We walked around enjoying the sights…. and had our first Bhutanese momos. Walked a lot and enjoyed more wonderful, adorned shops and buildings. Got a taxi home an hour or so later.

Renu relaxing in the lounge and a sign that made me laugh as there was no wine in sight.

The hotel room was great, huge and very very warm. Dinner in the hotel and my second thumpka, which was nowhere near as good as my earlier one. 

At the end of dinner, we were asked what we’d like for breakfast. We said toast, eggs, chai and Sanjiv asked for sausages. I seem to remember the response to sausages was ‘not possible sir’ despite a few ‘I’ll check with the chef’.

As we were leaving, we were told there was no bread, clearly negating the possibility of toast. We were told we could have pancakes which I thought was fine.

A warm nights sleep then we arrive at breakfast and are greeted by our pancakes. Not happy campers – except for me. Sanjiv had a kindly word to the waitress about the lacking other items and the constant reply was still ‘not possible sir’.

I can’t fully account for what happened next, but somehow some sad half omelettes that looked like they were cooked last week, arrived at our table. I declined, being somewhat happy with pancakes. I don’t think the omelettes were great. I finished breakfast and went for a walk. When I returned a short while later, Sanjiv was eating sausages! Apparently a chat with the chef, who seemed to dispute the waitresses account of what was available in the kitchen. Sanjiv was more pleased about a ‘positive’ (.) outcome rather than the quality of the food. I just thought it was the funniest breakfast ever.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Thimphu

  1. felimchughes says:

    See you very soon my dear friend Katy xx

Leave a comment